Book Review: A Life Less Ordinary

Updated cover patricia feb 28 13Title: A Life Less Ordinary

Author: Victoria Bernadine

Genre: Chicklit, Contemporary Fiction

Rating: 9/10

Buy: Amazon

For the last fifteen years, Rose “Manny” Mankowski has been a very good girl. She turned her back on her youthful fancies and focused on her career. But now, at the age of 45, she’s questioning her choices and feeling more and more disconnected from her own life. When she’s passed over for promotion and her much younger new boss implies Manny’s life will never change, something snaps. In the blink of an eye, she’s quit her job, sold her house and cashed in her pension, and she’s leaving town on a six month road trip.

After placing a personal ad for a travelling companion, she’s joined in her mid-life crisis by Zeke Powell, the cynical, satirical, most-read – and most controversial – blogger for the e-magazine, What Women Want. Zeke’s true goal is to expose Manny’s journey as a pitiful and desperate attempt to reclaim her lost youth – and increase his readership at the same time. Leaving it all behind for six months is just an added bonus.

Now, armed with a bagful of destinations, a fistful of maps, and an out-spoken imaginary friend named Harvey, Manny’s on a quest to rediscover herself – and taking Zeke along for the ride.

Sorry this review is late. It was supposed to be up on January 31, but a family emergency took me away from reading and from the internet. My brother is in the hospital as we speak. He had a stroke, which is very odd, at his age. Doctors are doing tests and well, I hope he ends up okay. I’m really worried though, so keep him in your prayers, if you will.

Now, on to happier stuff, and the book. A Life Less Ordinary is pretty amazing. I was late reading it anyway, so I took it with me to the hospital while I waited on test results for my brother, and it actually managed to pull me in the story, and make me forget about the rest, at least every now and then. I loved the humor! It brought a smile on my face (which you can imagine, wasn’t all that easy at that moment).

A Life Less Ordinary would be perfect as a movie. One of those feel-good movies. The MC is relatable (I could certainly relate to her) and after a while, I started to like Zeke as well.

Now I finished reading it, my first thoughts are to jump in my car and go on a road trip. Maybe I should join Manny and Zeke next time.

This entry was posted in Blog Tours, Book Reviews and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Book Review: A Life Less Ordinary

  1. I’m so sorry to hear about your brother; I will keep him in my thoughts, and I send you and your family virtual (non-creepy) hugs. I hope he will be okay.

    I’m glad my book could pull you away from the worries of the moment. I know what that’s like (for me it was Industrial Magic by Kelley Armstrong) and I’m happy I could “pay it forward”. 🙂

  2. Pingback: Tour Stops – Forever Book Lover & Book Suburbia | Victoria Bernadine's Author Blog

Leave a Reply

