Author Interview with Sally Dubats

wintershock

I’m happy to host Sally Dubats on my blog today with an interview for her book “Winter Shock”. Thanks for visiting, Sally!

1) Are you a plotter or a pantser?

I pretend that I’m a plotter, but I’m really a panster. I plot in sweeping strokes, and then I write a summary paragraph for each chapter. I think I’ve plotting a book, but the characters have a way of letting me know when my writing has become too safe. They often want to take the road less traveled, so I sit in the back seat and let them take the wheel… occasionally. The beginning and end stay true, but what happens in the middle sometimes changes while the characters drive.
2) Where did you get the inspiration for Winter Shock?

I wanted to create an exciting, fast-paced series about a strong female character who is a Witch, but not a Hollywood Witch — a real Witch. Winter Shock is Book 2 in “The Grimoire Chronicles” series, and I picked up the mythical elements of Yule, the second Sabbat (holiday) in the Pagan Wheel of the Year. Yule’s story is about the battle between the Oak and Holly King, but I tell that traditional story through the psychological decay of Cassie’s hunky love interest, Trenton… who happens to be a supernatural being.
3) How long will your fantasy series be?

I’m writing 8 books. There is one for each Sabbat.
4) What is your daily page or word count record?

I’ve never kept track! I just write like a madwoman. Hmm… maybe I should start keeping track.
5) Please tell us a little about Winter Shock!

What I’d love to tell you is that the original title was “Winter Solstice” but as I was finishing writing, that was way too tame for how the book developed. I said earlier that my characters have a lot to say while I’m writing, and after surviving avalanches, supernatural portals, emotional trauma, evil visions, and maxing out on physical endurance — all mixed in with love — well, the characters screamed at me to change the lame title. The “real” description is on amazon.com 🙂
6) What is your favorite fantasy novel of all time?

Ooo… I can only pick one?! Okay… the “Harry Potter” series, and I liked the last book best because it resolved Snape.
7) What are you working on right now?

I’m working on a Paranormal Comedy! It’s a little novella that’s almost finished. After that, it’s back to “The Grimoire Chronicles” series.

And, thank you so much for having me as a guest! I really appreciate it. Have a great day!

A Paranormal Comedy? That sounds great!

About Winter Shock

16277774Title: Winter Shock

Author: Sally Dubats

Genre:  Paranormal Fantasy

“Trenton drugged and kidnapped me. I was powerless.”

Cassie’s neighbors have secrets, and she is one of them.

A Witch taken against her will to an isolated, frozen wilderness on an impossible quest, Cassie defends herself against Trenton who has gone over to the dark side. One minute he’s adorable and charming, and the next weird, uncaring, and hostile. And now, Cassie fears for her life.

Winter Solstice draws near, and Cassie performs magical spells to gain clarity. Instead she is shocked by visions and mind jumps into the lives of strangers on the brink of disaster.

Why is she in a hostile, threatening wilderness? What is causing the horrific visions? Cassie discovers there is much more at stake than her own survival. To survive, she must overcome impossible odds.

Book two in “The Grimoire Chronicles” series, “Winter Shock” is a paranormal fantasy novel that you’ll never forget! If you love paranormal romance, urban fantasy, Witches and Wicca, paranormal mystery, paranormal horror, action and survival, “The Grimoire Chronicles” series is definitely for you!

Author Bio

Sally 3Sally Dubats is a published author of a non-fiction compendium on the practice of witchcraft called Natural Magick: The Essential Witch’s Grimoire. Her current project is an 8-book fantasy series, The Grimoire Chronicles. The first two books are complete, and Veil Between Worlds and Winter Shock have received critical acclaim. She has held editorial positions for green non-profit organizations, and was the editor of a metaphysical newspaper for several years. Sally is Wiccan and continues to practice and research the Craft.

http://www.sallydubats.com

Twitter: @sallydubats

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/sally.dubats

Facebook Author Page: https://www.facebook.com/SallyDubats.Author

Amazon link: http://www.amazon.com/Winter-Shock-Grimoire-Chronicles-ebook/dp/B00AJF8LSE/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1357186234&sr=8-1&keywords=winter+shock

This entry was posted in Author Interview and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

