Book Excerpt ‘Blood and Thunder’

bloodbanner

I’m hosting an excerpt for the book tour for YA fantasy novel ‘Blood and Thunder’ today. Blood and Thunder is the fifth installment in the Grimm Chronicles.

Read an Excerpt

I hefted the stick in my hand. It was light. Bent awkwardly. Definitely not a good facsimile of a foil. But before I could say another word, he came at me, swinging his stick wildly. I whacked the stick away, falling back and nearly tripping.

“Woah! Time out, time out!”

“No,” Chase said, launching another attack. I riposted as best I could, but it was only a few attacks before his stick slipped through my defense and connected painfully with my left arm.

“Ouch! Chase!” I jumped back, looking at my arm. The sleeve of my blue t-shirt was ripped. The skin was cut. “You ripped my shirt!”

“You don’t like that shirt anyway,” Chase said. “You like your violet shirts. Now come at me. Are you mad?”

“Yes!”

“Then come at me!”

I launched an attack, whipping my stick wildly left, then right, then downward. I stabbed. Then I stabbed again, pushing him back.

“Good,” he said. “Faster now! Faster, Alice!”

I swung again, losing control. He counter-riposted, hitting me right in the stomach. I fell back, then came at him again, this time keeping control.

“Faster!” Chase ordered.

I swung faster. He parried what he could, but my stick connected with him a couple times. I aimed right for the number of his jersey, swinging and counter-riposting and stabbing that number 12 again and again. I wanted to tear away that jersey and make sure he never wore it again. I wanted to hurt him.

“OK, stop.” He lowered his stick but I swung again anyway, connecting with his elbow. “Ouch, damn it! We’re done. We’re done.”

“What the heck was that all about?” I asked angrily.

“You need the killer’s instinct,” he answered, grabbing my stick. He threw both of the sticks onto the grass. “The best athletes have it. It’s that drive to finish the job. It’s the absolute power over your opponent. Relentlessness. You haven’t had it yet. You always start strong, then you back up and play down to your opponent. Go for the kill, Goodenough.”

About Blood and Thunder

BnT(1)Title: Blood and Thunder

Author: Isabella Fontaine & Ken Brosky

Genre: YA

Upon making a surprising discovery in a Corrupted’s lair, Alice finds herself torn between her responsibilities as the hero and her desire to live a normal life. She’s been granted a unique opportunity to leave the entire world of the hero behind. But before she can make her ultimate choice, her nightmares return …

A ship is coming. And aboard that ship is one of the most terrifying Corrupteds Alice has faced yet. In order to face her foe, Alice will have to do without the help of her scorned friend, Br’er Rabbit.

At school, a miraculous recovery by the star of the baseball team prompts more questions, all of them bringing Alice back to that fateful encounter at the orphanage of doom. To make matters worse, a school bully has taken his terrorizing too far, a friend is in trouble, and the mysterious ship in Alice’s nightmare holds a terrible secret …

This story also contains:
– “The Fisherman and His Wife,” by the Brothers Grimm
– Chapter one of “Moby-Dick,” by Herman Melville.

 Author Bio

Isabella Fontaine lives a quiet life on a farm in rural Wisconsin. She enjoys reading Grimm’s Fairy Tales and writing on a typewriter, which annoys her cats. This is her first book collection.

Ken Brosky received his MFA from the University of Nebraska-Omaha. He’s written a number of books and regularly publishes short stories. He also helps out at Brew City Press whenever possible. This is his first young adult collection.

Purchase from Amazon!

This entry was posted in Blog Tours and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

