Blog Tour: Book Review for “Rescued” by Arlene Lam

Title: Rescued
Author: Arlene Lam
Genre: Historical Romance, Interracial
Rating: 7/10
The fire that burned when they were together was consuming.

Her whole life Amelia was told what to do obediently following the rules her domineering aunt set forth. Right down to letting the woman choose the man she was to marry. However this was about to change because from the moment she laid eyes on Jordan Bradford the shy young maid was lost. But loving a man like him was beyond dangerous for more than the obvious reasons. However Amelia found herself throwing caution to the wind and willing to risk everything for just one kiss.

Intriguing and honest Jordan was drawn to Amelia instantly. Shy and witty Jordan knows that deep down there is a woman just waiting to be set free if only those around her would let her. Still he knew pursuing her was not an option. And even if it was she was already promised to another man. Yet every time she was near that knowledge was lost to him. Wasn’t forbidden fruit always sweeter? It was an added luxury that whenever he was in her presence his past seemed just that, the past. Just one look and a flame long though extinguished was awakened in him. So much so that Amelia was a woman Jordan decided needed to be rescued.

Review

Jordan Bradford thinks he’s incapable of love after his previous wife cheated on him, and left him broken-hearted. He dates around, goes to bed with any woman he can get, but feels no attachment toward them. When he comes back from a long trip overseas and sees the maid working at his mansion, Amelia, he finds her pretty enough, but she’s just another conquest to him. Another something he wants to have, and he will stop at nothing to get her, even if he’s putting her reputation in danger. Meanwhile, Amelia is wary of his attentions. Growing up unloved, she thinks no one will ever be capable of loving her, certainly not a man like Jordan. She’s betrothed to an old, mean man, and has made her peace with it. That will be her life. Never did she expect love could find its way inside her heart, and make her burn like she’d never burned before.

The premise of Rescued was interesting enough for me to dive straight into reading once I got my hands on the review copy. The book started out promising enough as well. Amelia’s personality at the beginning of the book was a shy and quiet one, she felt like she was undeserving of every good thing coming her way, and much too nice for her own good. Mr. Bradford – Jordan – on the other hand was straightforward and overwhelming, charming and a tad bit manipulative, a good, classic alpha hero. The more time Jordan and Amelia spent together, the more their personal qualities seem to rub off on each other. Amelia became more confident, even a bit playful and witty, and Jordan became nicer, even to all other people around him.

The character growth in this book was interesting enough to keep me reading on, as were the interactions between Amelia and Jordan. I also liked the side characters, especially George. She was so nice!

Something that troubled me was the setting. We got a lot of physical descriptions of people, but not a lot of descriptions of the setting. I don’t even know the year this is set in, or the era, although I could take a few guesses. I don’t even know Georgia’s age, which made it difficult for me to understand some passages about her.

The story was decent, the plot fun, the characters intriguing. This book could’ve done with another round of editing though. I came across some missing commas and oddly-placed words. Nothing that would stop me from reading, but it did slow down my reading pace.

Read an Excerpt

Sliding down onto the nearby couch Amelia picked up the book that lay next to it. “Reading relaxes the soul—you know I couldn’t sleep, so I thought I’d use a book for a remedy.”

Turning the pages of the book in his lap lazily he glanced across at her before returning to it. “I agree.”

“Poetry, it always does the trick.” Amelia blurted mindlessly, finding herself oddly at ease for the first time in the man’s presence.

Quirking an eyebrow up at her Jordan put down the book in his hand—this was the most she’d ever said to him willingly. “I suggest Longfellow.” Rising he handed her his book.

Frowning at him Amelia too put her book down. “I couldn’t.”

“I insist, besides I can sleep, I don’t need its aid.” Winking at her Jordan returned to his chair but in the dim light noticed the large bruise that marked her brown arm but resisted the urge to ask her from where she received it.

“I thank you Mr. Bradford I’ll return it as soon as I finish I promise.”

“Don’t worry your pretty head about it I would like you to keep it.”

Amelia felt that now too familiar blush come to her face and the corners of her lips curl up at the unexpected compliment.

“She smiles.” Jordan said to himself and walking past her Jordan came close enough to touch her. “Something I am sure the world could see much more of.”

This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

